Here’s the thing about life.

We’ve all gotten to a point in our life where we asked ourselves some questions.. “Am I living life?”  or “Where am I going?” or my personal favorite “Now what?“.

For what it’s worth, the past 4 months of my life have been pretty hectic. So hectic in fact that I haven’t even had the chance to think about my life. Haven’t asked myself any one of those questions. I got to a breaking point where I just wanted to shut everything off and sit there quietly, waiting for nothing to happen. At that point, watching paint dry would be the most soothing thing I could ever do. But most of you know what I’m talking about. To those who haven’t been there, this one’s for you. To those who are still going through that, this one’s for you. To those who have gotten over that, high-five mates.

So what is it about life that is so important that it made me go back to blogging after months of inactivity?

You get your ass out of your mother’s womb, you’ve got nothing on your mind. You go to kindergarten, you’ve got nothing on your mind.

Now for the fun part: You go to elementary, you come home crying to your mommy after your classmates laughed at you for peeing yourself. You go to middle school, you spend hours looking at the mirror trying to figure out how you’re going to go the next day with all these pimples all over your face. You go to high-school, you spend hours thinking about a plausible story to tell your friends about how you lost your virginity to this super hot girl when truth is you haven’t even seen a pair of tits before. You go to college, you spend your time thinking about how you’re going to bring your GPA up and save some money to buy your girlfriend a present. As for the rest, I wouldn’t know. Haven’t really been there.

Where am I going with this? You spend your entire goddamn life, you waste all of your energy, you take up all of your time just to think about the way people see you. The moment you step into real life, the moment you come in contact with people who can actually speak the moment you shake someone’s hand for the first time or tell a girl you like her for the first time, you start worrying about shit that never even matters. I’ve been living in my own shell of insecurity for God knows how long, just because I’ve been worried about what people talk about when I’m not there.

But you see, here’s the thing about lifeIT AIN’T WORTH IT! but what is?

Have I been respecting my parents lately? Have I been showing them the gratitude they need to see? Have I made my girlfriend/boyfriend feel loved lately? And to those who believe in God, have I been satisfying him lately? This is ALL you need to worry about. Forget about prejudice, forget about rumors forget about if you’ve worn the same pair of jeans 2 days in a row. Because I guarantee you, those who are talking about you probably have the same concerns, but as long as you worry about fixing your relationship with the three assets I’ve mentioned above, then you should be completely fine.

But how do you even do that? One thing I once read and never left my mind, “If you get to a point in life where you think you’re the best person you could ever be, then you’re far from being the best person you could ever be” because let me tell you something, as pretty as a building looks, it’s always going to have that one flaw that needs to be fixed to match the rest of it. Once you fix that flaw, something else won’t match it anymore, and you’ll need to fix that. It’s a domino effect. How do you fix it? You don’t. You just keep working on yourself, and you keep working and working. When you think you’re done, work harder. Because otherwise, life will get boring. Life will get lame. Life will be the embodiment of what Lebanese people call “The American Lifestyle” otherwise known as “metl l roboyet”. You wake up, go to work, come home, try to have sex with your wife, fail miserably, end up popping a beer and watching the game to do the same thing all over again the next morning.

What I’m trying to say is, life’s nothing but a sandbox. Keep changing it the way you find suitable. It’s cheap, it’s time consuming, it’s fun and the outcome is always going to be a marvel. Three things you always keep in mind, Family, Love and God.

Leave a Reply

